Lessons learned

So, I cut a piece off the loom the other day. It’s cozy and has lots, well, not lots but a few good qualities (cozy being chief among them). The most important thing for me is that I actually learned something from the work.

First – it was a piece neglected for too long. My loom (an Ashford RH and yes, you can order one from me – they look like this:)

Anyway, tangent over; I warped the loom with a gorgeous alpaca silk that’s no longer available. So, that was actually the first mistake. Although alpaca can be fine and silk can be fine, together they were the WORST combination of slippery and grabby. I confess, I got frustrated and slid it under my desk (because it just fits nicely – which is one of the things I LOVE about it) and left it. Now I did, technically, store it correctly. I loosened the tension, tucked in the shuttle etc. So, imagine my surprise pulling it out a while later (okay, like 6 months later but don’t tell!) only to have bits both on the shuttle (loaded with Malabrigo worsted) and the warp breaking. I couldn’t figure out what was going on but advanced the loom past the bit I’d woven, determined not to waste about eight million miles of luxury alpaca silk blend, and salvaged the warp as best I could. After a few throws, I realized -the cats have been scratching at it. I’m usually pretty careful about keeping felines away from yarn but that one evaded me (won’t have that problem in the future).

void So, lesson two – don’t forget about your personal projects, obviously at the mercy of the damn cats. Lesson three – most of the project ended up being homespun. I have a batt of luscious Grey Romney that looks like this:


It does have one flaw-second cuts. I was playing with spinning woollen using that batt but the second cuts made me squirrely. I figured it was a low cost way to practice though so persisted with absolutely no idea what I would be using it for. I realized it would look great with the grey alpaca silk warp so, I went for that. Well, I need to remember to be patient the next time I’m using home spun that didn’t start off being spun for weaving. So, there’s another lesson.

I suspect there are other ones but those are the ones so fresh in my mind.

Although there was an abundance of frustration with this project, I still really love and appreciate my rh loom. It is so easy to use and nowhere near the commitment my bigger loom (a LeClerc) was. I can whip up a small project on it, or get into more complex things (once holiday weaving is done, I’ll be learning double weave); it’s portable and, most importantly in my teeny, tiny house, slips out of the way really well.

Alright. I have a craft fair to get up early for tomorrow (no, not selling, spending). Good night all, and happy fibre dreams.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Lessons learned

  1. I love those. I would love them in more holiday colours.

Leave a Reply

